Driving under the influence in any form is generally considered a misdemeanor criminal offence in Georgia. If found guilty of DUI, a driver can face harsh penalties. While deciding the quantum and nature of punishment in DUI cases, judges consider two things a)- whether the driver has a criminal record and b)-their driving record.
Here are different types of punishments handed down to drivers found guilty of driving under the influence.
Drivers License Revocation/Suspension
If a driver is found guilty of a DUI they may end up losing (temporarily or permanently) their driving privileges. Depending on whether the person is a first-time offender or a repeat offender and the seriousness of the offence, the judge may either suspend their license for a year or more or cancel their license.
Repeat offenders may lose their driving privileges for five years. Once the suspension period ends, the driver must apply for a fresh license and pay all applicable fees and meet DDS requirements.
Drivers found guilty of DUI may be asked to pay a fine as part of their criminal sentencing. Depending on the severity of the offence, a first time offender may be asked to pay a fine of $1,000 or more. Repeat offenders can end up paying up to as much as $10,000. DUI offenders must also pay a fine to have their licenses reinstated.
In Georgia, it is mandatory for drivers found guilty of DUI to participate in non-paid community service. The probation department of the court must approve the program the offender volunteers with. Offenders do not have to file a separate petition for approval as every court has a list of approved organizations.
Complete a Substance Abuse Treatment Program
When a driver is found guilty of DUI, the court orders an etel:valuation to determine whether the offender has a substance abuse problem. The evaluation must be done by a professional certified by the Georgia Department of Behavioral Health and Developmental Disabilities.
If the evaluator’s report concludes that the offender has substance abuse issues, they will be required to complete a substance abuse treatment program. If you have been found guilty of DUI, your DUI attorney in Macon, GA will help you find a certified evaluator.
A first-time DUI offender may be asked to serve a three-day jail term. In cases involving serious offences, the offender may be sentenced to one-year imprisonment. Repeat offenders can get 30 days or more in jail.
Have you been injured in a DUI accident? Let 1-800-HURT-911 help you find the right Gwinnett County DUI lawyer for your case. Our panel comprises experienced DUI lawyers. No matter how complex your case, we will connect you to a lawyer who ticks all the right boxes for you. To get started, call 1-800-487-8911.