Distracted driving claims thousands of lives every year. While technology has the power to keep you hooked, rules remind you of forming and maintaining healthy boundaries to prevent damage to yourself and others. One such law is the Hands-Free Georgia Act, formulated to minimize accidents by compelling drivers to “free their hands” of mobiles and other devices while driving.
What is the Hands-Free Georgia Act?
Effective July 1, 2018, the Hands-Free Georgia Act stipulates that no person should have a mobile phone or any other similar device touching any part of their body while driving. The law states that you can neither have a phone in your hands, tucked near your shoulder, nor on your lap. Violation of the law can pose a danger to your life and can also lead to a hefty penalty.
Are you wondering whether you are allowed to listen to music? Yes, but only if the technology you are using allows hands-free listening and programming. Other activities like texting, taking pictures, or recording videos are strictly prohibited. But a driver may use wireless telecommunication devices such as earpieces for voice-based communication only.
A few exceptions to this law also include:
- Medical emergency
- Witnessing a car crash
- If you are a first responder
Georgia enacted this law after witnessing a spike in rear-end vehicle collisions. The majority of these accidents involved drivers aged 15-25 years, operating a handheld device while driving. A similar law had led to a significant decline in such accidents in 15 other states that already had this legislation.
If you have been in a similar situation where you have been charged with violating this law or suffered injuries because another driver violated this law, it’s crucial to get in touch with a personal injury lawyer in Decatur.
Hands-Free Georgia Act: Penalties and License Suspension
The monetary penalty provision starts with a minor fine of $50 but gets stringent with every violation. The second violation comes with a double point on your license and a $100 fine. Similarly, the third conviction will cost you a $150 fine and three points on your license.
If you violate the law several times within two years, your license stands the risk of being suspended, along with a fine of $300 or more.
This is a very fundamental explanation of the law. You can always speak to a car accident attorney for a detailed explanation. The auto accident attorney can help you with proper representation to get the charges dropped if you are involved or convicted in such a case.
Grab your FREE consultation if you are looking for assistance from a car accident attorney in Decatur. Call 1-800-522-2277 right now! The Hurt 911 Injury Centers will deploy its team of highly-established car accident lawyers on the spot to analyze your case to get you the settlement you deserve. It doesn’t matter if you are convicted for violating the act or have been injured due to other driver’s negligence, we’ll build a strong case. We do not charge until we get you the settlement you deserve!