If you have suffered a car accident in Georgia, you probably might face certain strict deadlines for filing your claim. Statute of limitations is one such important deadline that determines the timeline for victims to file their case in court. So what are the statutes of limitations for car accidents in Georgia?
The statute of limitations is not the only thing in your case. There are numerous vital timelines and actions that you need to take to win the case.
This is why it is always recommended to contact a personal injury lawyer in Decatur, GA, as soon as possible after your car accident. These law professionals will be of great help to you in effectively meeting all the deadlines in your case.
Georgia’s Statute of Limitations for Auto Car Accidents
Talking about the statute of limitations in Georgia, the timeline for personal injury claims in case of car accidents is 2 years. It means that the injured person has only 2 years from the accident date to file a claim in court.
You must know that the victim can file two different claims in case of car accidents in Georgia.
- A claim for personal injuries.
- A claim for property or vehicle damage.
Moreover, the statute of limitations for filing a property damage claim in a Georgia car accident is 4 years. In contrast, the statute of limitations for filing a personal injury claim is only 2 years.
As a matter of fact, the state of Georgia has set a different statute of limitations or deadlines for car accidents depending on the type of car accident, and the type of damages claim that you seek.
- You only get 6 months to file your compensation claim if your car accident involves a county or city vehicle.
- If your accident involves a state vehicle, you will probably get at least 1 year to file your claim.
- In most of the car accident cases in Georgia, the victims get 4 years to file their claims for property or vehicle damages.
- If your car accident case involves a federal government vehicle, you will get at least a 2-year timeline to file your compensation claims.
Other Deadlines for Georgia Car Accidents
If you are a car accident victim, it is important for you to know that the statute of limitations is not the only deadline you face. There are other timelines as well that you need to consider.
- Call and inform the police immediately. In many cases, it is obligatory to call the police at the accident site in Georgia.
- Contact your insurance company within 24 hours. Make sure you report your car accident to your insurance company as soon as possible.
- Seek immediate medical attention. Contact a healthcare expert in your area and receive proper medical care to strengthen your claims.
The Bottom Line
No matter the statute of limitations for car accidents in Georgia, make sure that you immediately contact a car accident lawyer in Decatur, GA, after the accident to handle your case professionally and take care of all timelines on your behalf.
Are you looking for an auto accident lawyer in Decatur, GA? The Hurt 911 Injury Centers are here to help. You can contact us on 18004878911 and book a consultation with our expert car accident attorneys.